To give ceremony Vietnam Tourism Awards 2008
Vietnam Tourism Association held a ceremony to announce and give "Vietnam Tourism Awards 2008" in order to honor leading hotels, travel businesses at Hanoi Opera House on 2 July, 2009.
Attending the ceremony were Mr. Tran Chien Thang, Deputy Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism; Mr. Nguyen Phu Duc, Chairman of Vietnam Tourism Association, Mr. Nguyen Van Tuan, General Director of Vietnam National Administration of Tourism (VNAT); Mr. Nguyen Manh Cuong, Deputy Director of VNAT; Mr. Jozef W. M. Van Doorn and Mr. Vu Quoc Tri, Co-Director EU Project, leaders of VNAT departments, representatives of hotels, travel and tourism-related businesses, journalists, editors of many media.
The year 2009 marked the 10th year of the Vietnam Tourism Award System (former is TOPTEN International Tour Operators and Hotels in Vietnam). This is the most annual prestigious prize granted to tourism-related businesses by Vietnam’s tourism industry.
This year, the Association has expanded the awards to members, honored more businesses and promoting emulation movement in the whole industry. Accordingly, the Association voted separately for each class of hotels (5-star, 4-star and 3-star), and also voted to the title "Leading Domestic Tour Operators in Vietnam."
The top ten five-star hotels (sorted by rank) are: Sofitel Plaza Hanoi, Melia Hanoi, Ben Thanh - Rex (HCMC), Renaissance Riverside Saigon (HCMC), Majestic (HCMC), Nikko Hanoi, Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang (Khanh Hoa), Sunrise Nha Trang (Khanh Hoa), Vinpearl Resort & Spa Nha Trang (Khanh Hoa) and Furama (Da Nang).
The top ten four-star hotels (sorted by rank) are: Dong Khoi - Grand Hotel (HCMC), De Nhat - First Hotel (HCMC), Sunway Hanoi, Yasaka Saigon Nha Trang, Palace Saigon, Hoan Cau - Continental Hotel (HCMC), Grand Palace (Ba Ria - Vung Tau), Hoi An (Quang Nam), Saigon Morin (Thua Thien - Hue) and Saigon Phu Quoc (Kien Giang).
The top ten three-star hotels (sorted by rank) are: Que Huong 4 - Liberty 4 (HCMC), Que Huong 1 - Liberty 1 (HCMC), Hoa Binh (Hanoi), Vien Dong (HCMC), Petro Song Tra (Quang Ngai) , Rex (Ba Ria - Vung Tau), Thang Long Opera Hotel (Hanoi), Phuc Long (HCMC), Festival Hue (Thua Thien - Hue) and Cuu Long (Can Tho).
Ten tourism companies achieved the title of the leading international tour operators in Vietnam in 2008 (sorted by rank) are: Saigontourist, Exotissimo - Cesais, Vietnamtourism – Hanoi JSC, Tan Dinh Tourism JSC - FIDITOURIST, Ben Thanh Tourist, Peace Tour Company, Vitours, Vietnam Tourism JSC in HCMC, Huong Giang Tourism Co.Ltd , and A Dong Tourism Trading Co., Ltd.
Five tourism companies achieved the title of the leading domestic tour operators in Vietnam in 2008 (sorted by rank) are: Saigontourist, Ben Thanh Tourist, Youth Tourism JSC (HCMC), Hanoi Tourist and An Giang Tourism JSC.
Three international travel businesses and two hotels reach 10 years of continuously achieving TOPTEN titles (1999-2008) include: Ben Thanh Tourist Company, Peace Tour Company, Vietnamtourism – Hanoi JSC, Ben Thanh - Rex Hotel (HCMC) and De Nhat - First Hotel (HCMC).
This year the Vietnam Tourism Association gave two new awards: “Renowned Transport Company” for Peace Tour Company and “Renowned Tourism Shopping Destination” for Yaly Services Tourism Trade and Fashion JSC (Quang Nam) and Minh Anh Trade Company (Hai Duong).
Also in the ceremony, the Tourism Human Resources Development Project bestowed its own prizes to five hotels and travel companies which have led in training personnel in accordance with the standards of Vietnam’s Tourism Occupational Skills system (VTOS) for Bong Sen Hotel, Hoi An Hotel, Sofitel Plaza Hanoi, Saigontourist and OSC Travel (SMI Group).